Cambridge International

Glenwood High School is an approved selected school to offer this unique opportunity, which will provide your son with up to date, quality education of the highest international standards.

Glenwood students write examinations set and marked by the University of Cambridge Examinations board in the U.K. and have on-going support throughout the year from experienced and successful educators who annually undergoes professional training and development to ensure that quality teaching is achieved.

In response to the increasing demand for quality education, Glenwood High School offers this international qualification to students.


The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is taken in over 145 countries, both in international schools and institutions catering to local populations. It is one of the most recognised qualifications around the world. IGCSE courses are renowned for developing vital educational skills, including the recall of knowledge, oral skills, problem-solving, initiative, teamwork and investigative skills. At Glenwood High School subjects are drawn from five groups: Languages, Humanities, Social Sciences, Mathematics and Vocational Studies. The resulting qualification provides a foundation for higher level courses, such as A and AS Levels.

Cambridge IGCSE caters for different levels of ability with a choice between core and extended papers in many subjects. The core curriculum is based on an overview of the subjects and is suitable for students expected to achieve grades C to G. The extended curriculum is more challenging and designed for students who are expected to achieve grades A* to C.

IGCSE courses take two years to complete (Grade 9 and 10) and exams are taken at the end of the period. Examinations are held in June and November with results issued in August and February respectively.


Cambridge International Advanced Subsidiary Levels (AS Levels) and Cambridge International Advanced Levels (A Levels) are subject-based qualifications usually taken in the final two years of high school (Grade 11 and 12). Cambridge International AS is typically a one-year programme of study, while Cambridge International A Level typically takes two years. Assessments take place at the end of each programme.

Cambridge’s internationally recognised grades are reported with clear guidelines to explain the standards of achievement. The Cambridge International A Level is reported on a grade scale from A* (highest) to E (minimum required performance). There is no A* grade for Cambridge International AS Levels, which are reported from A – E. Each subject is graded separately and no Grade Point Average is calculated. Separate certificates are issued for each examination series. Grades are awarded only for subjects that candidates pass.

The Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS), U.K. universities and institutions overseas recognise Cambridge International AS & A Levels. The standard admissions requirement for U.K. based universities is three A Levels. Studying at a South African university, Cambridge has produced an easy reference guide to the minimum admission requirements for an exemption into South African public universities for Bachelor Degree purposes. The guide summarises exemption criteria for students holding Cambridge qualifications. This means that Cambridge schools and students can now see at a glance the various group, grade and subject options for Cambridge qualifications, which are necessary to fulfil the exemption requirements. For more information, follow the link:


Cambridge Assessment International Education Exams:

May / June 2019 Exams for Private Candidates

Entries for private candidates opens 14 January 2019 – Entry closes 21 February 2019


For any further assistance about Cambridge or admission to Cambridge, please email the

Director – Mr R Rossouw – or

Deputy Director – Mrs LA Foster –