Glenwood’s policy of encouraging and supporting mass participation in extramural activities affords literally hundreds of its boys the opportunity to experience excellent facilities and coaching.
In addition to the facilities mentioned specifically here, the boys also enjoy the use of a high-performance turf, swimming pool, 5 squash courts, 4 tennis courts, 3 rugby fields, 4 cricket fields, 2 football fields and a basketball court.
School Hall – like with many other schools int he province major alterations and additions took place in 1976 – 1977. One of the most significant additions was the construction of a new hall to replace the rather cramped one in the Old Block that could no longer house the whole school for assemblies. The Old School Hall became the Resource Centre. The new Hall was rather impishly dubbed, “The House that Jack built” and it is today known as the Mvinjelwa Johannes Mhlongo Hall in recognition of Glenwood’s longest serving staff member, 1948 – 1996. The Hall was officially named by Mr TM Kershaw (retired Headmaster) and Mr M Sjolander (retired Chairman of the Old Boys Association) in September 2002.
Contact Ms Sharleen Retief on 031 2055241 or firstname.lastname@example.org to book the School Hall for private functions.